* Day 05 — Your favorite book

Seriously?  Let me tell you all a bit about my life.  My life has mainly revolved around books.  I learned how to read when I was 4, and in the 5th grade I was at a 12th grade reading level.  We had to do this thing called Accelerated Reading (A.R.) and there were literally no books on my reading level available in the library.  Luckily my teacher let me read books from home, and she’s the one the introduced me to the Harry Potter and Chronicles of Narnia series.

Yet again, this post is going to contain another list, because there is no way I’d be able to pick just one book.

1. The Harry Potter series.

I was the same age of Harry when I started reading the books.  I grew up with the characters, and I think that’s what makes them so important to me.  I remember buying numbers 1-3 at the same time, and I was so excited to start reading them.  I think it only took me two weeks.  When numbers 4-7 came out, I stayed up all night reading them and would finish the day after.  Then I would re-read them.

2. The Great Gatsby

I had to read this book my sophomore year of high school, and I was dreading it.  I was completely wrong about it.  However, the book is only slightly better than this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RiajdDYYMaA

3. To Kill a Mockingbird

I can’t really explain what it is I love about this one.  It’s just…good.  Really, really good.

4. Water for Elephants

Definitely read this!!! It’s getting ready to be made into a movie, which I definitely have mixed feelings about, but hopefully it won’t let me down. It’s a newer book, but it’s a classic in my eyes.

5. The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Do I need to explain?  If you’ve read it, you understand.  If you haven’t read it, I don’t know what you’re waiting for.  Go buy a copy, now.

RUNNERS UP:

The Bell Jar

Dreamland (anything by Sarah Dessen, really.  She’s wonderful.)

The Reader

Claire Marvel

Flabbergasted

The Kite Runner and One Thousand Splendid Suns

Leave a Reply

